PressPort logo

Gang Of Four will release new album in Spring 2010

Press release November 27, 2009 Music

A tough, exciting, sound, their first album in a decade

Andy Gill and Jon King, founder members of the legendary Gang Of Four, are putting finishing touches to their first new album for over a decade.

The album,  to feature 10 new Gill/King songs, is being produced by Andy Gill, who has worked as producer with major acts such as Red Hot Chili Peppers, Michael Hutchence, Young Knives, The Futureheads and many others.

Demand for new material from the band has been intense following a resurgence of interest in their music.  The band ,  Andy Gill, guitar, Jon King, vocals, Mark Heaney, drums and Thomas McNeice, bass, has played a series of critically acclaimed, incendiary live performances at major European festivals over the last three years .

Andy Gill says: "We're aiming for a raw, natural sound that captures the intensity of our live shows. The new songs are tough and exciting. It's a thrill to be producing a new album again."

Gang of Four, 2006 winners of Mojo's Inspiration to Music award, has been cited as a major influence by bands such as REM, the Chili Peppers, Rage Against The Machine, Ministry and others; and their punk-funk sound has been highly influential on current indie bands such as Bloc Party, Franz Ferdinand &  The Rapture among many others.

Gang of Four  will  tour  worldwide   in 2010 to support the album release